San Diego Wage and Hour Attorney
Pursuing Justice in Wage & Hour Claims in CA
If your employer fails to abide by wage and hour laws, your future and livelihood may be adversely affected. But you shouldn't have to struggle to pay rent, buy groceries, or take care of other necessities because your employer is in non-compliance. You can and should hold the company responsible for its unlawful actions and seek compensation for the hardship you suffered. To do this effectively, you need the help of an attorney who has a thorough understanding of state and federal labor statutes and can skillfully guide you through the complexities of your case.
At the Law Office of George Gedulin our San Diego wage and hour claims lawyers have extensive legal experience and can help you understand your case and options. We know the difficulties that can arise when an employer does not act as required and the challenges you may face when trying to obtain justice. That is why we will do everything in our power to protect your rights and address issues of non-compliance. We will advocate for you and go up against your employer to work toward obtaining fair compensation on your behalf.
To learn more about how we can help hold your employer accountable, call us at (858) 281-4605 or contact us online today.
Wage and Hour Statutes in California
California has several laws concerning how an employer must pay their workers and what hours certain employees can work.
These statutes include the following:
- Minimum wages: The state provides that an employer must pay their employees a minimum amount per hour. If the employer provides wages that fall under the baseline, employees may take legal action for violations of the law. The minimum wages statute applies whether you are classified as an exempt or non-exempt employee. Thus, regardless of your status, you may be able to sue your employer if you are not receiving fair wages.
- Overtime: In California, if an employer requires an employee to work over 8 hours a day or over 40 hours a week, they must pay overtime. In some cases, this can be "time and a half"; in others, it can be "double time." The amount of overtime pay depends on how many hours or days the employee worked. The law only applies to non-exempt employees, which means if you are classified as exempt, you are not entitled to overtime. However, some employers unlawfully misclassify their employees to avoid paying for extra hours or days worked. Therefore, even if you are an exempt worker, if you feel your rights have been violated, discuss your case with our wage and hour claims attorneys in San Diego. We'll evaluate your situation and help determine whether you should have been paid overtime.
- Meal and rest breaks: In California, non-exempt employees who work over 5 hours a day are entitled to a minimum 30-minute meal break. And workers who are scheduled for more than 10 hours must receive a second meal break of at least 30 minutes. Additionally, every four hours worked, an employee can take a 10-minute rest period. Employers cannot require employees to work during either their meal or rest periods. Doing so is a violation of labor laws and may give rise to civil claims. If you were denied an appropriate break during your shift or if you were told you must work through your lunch or break period, reach out to the Law Office of George Gedulin to discuss your legal options.
Sound Advice and Counsel 24/7
State and federal labor laws are complex, and understanding your rights can be complicated. Our wage and hour claims attorney will clearly explain the statutes your employer must abide by and whether their actions warrant a lawsuit. When helping pursue your claim, we will expend the resources necessary to seek a favorable result for you.
For the compassionate yet aggressive representation you need, call us at (858) 281-4605 or submit an online contact form today.